Day 1: Olubukola Omotoso

When I was little, Christmas was that time when Mum would buy me new (oversized, in the hopes that I would grow into them the following year. Love you, Mum) clothes and shoes. My siblings and I would get two sets of clothes; one for Christmas (odun kekere) and one for the New Year (odun nla). The memories I have of those years are of struggling for my hair not to be packed in a high bun because of my prominent forehead. I would fail, of course (who wins with their mum? Seriously, let me know. I need lessons) and I would stuff myself into my clothes, head for church and come back home to eat fried rice, all this without me smiling once.
As I grew older and left home for boarding house, which meant less than par food and mean seniors, Christmas was that holiday when all the uncles and aunts would come home, all the children would return from their schools, and the house would be filled with so much laughter and even more fried rice. Good times.
As I grew even older and went farther from home, Christmas became that holiday that I looked forward to with so much longing; it was when I could shed all the city stress and the ensuing unhappiness, and go home to be with my family for one glorious week; it was the highlight of my year. My friends would tease me about running home every holiday, but it did nothing to me. They didn’t understand how much I detested the city and living in it. I needed that break; it was (still is) my reboot.
Now, I’m beginning to understand that home isn’t necessarily a place; the people you love carry your home with them in their hearts. Also, that family is the cushion that God gives you to soften life’s blows, and they don’t have to be (only) those who are related to you by blood. Most importantly, I am learning more about the reason, the Lord of Christmas.
I’m getting to understand that setting aside one day will never be enough; all of eternity will never be enough to be amazed at the wonder of God becoming flesh. Every day is a celebration for the Christian who understands. Every single day is a day to thank God for redemption, for the chance to be saved, for adoption, for election, for the opportunity to spend eternity with Him.
I don’t know that anyone knows the actual date of Jesus’ birth, and some of the practices we have come to associate with Christmas have no root in the Bible. In fact, some other churches in the world celebrate Christmas on a different day than December 25. We have come to associate Christmas with Santa, gift-giving, charity, Chicken, Fried and Jollof Rice…but these things ought to be part of our everyday lives (not Santa, and definitely not rice, except you’re wanting a Santa-like mid-section). God became flesh and brought redemption to humankind. That is not something you wait until one day in the year to share or to celebrate.
We ought to live every day in a manner that exemplifies Jesus’ love and compassion for people. So as you celebrate and set about to do “good deeds” this season, remember the real reason for Christmas. And remember that He commands us to live every day of our lives and shining examples and sign posts to Him. For us who believe, every day is Christmas.

Thank you Bukky for sharing your view.😆

1 Comment

Filed under 12 days of Christmas

One response to “Day 1: Olubukola Omotoso

  1. Tobi

    Nice one Bukky!
    Everyday is christmas!

Leave a Reply

